WAPA AGM 2013 & New Committee

September 13, 2013

The WAPA Annual General Meeting was held this week on Wednesday, 11 September 2013, at the iWeek Conference in Johannesburg.

The event was an opportunity for members to meet the executive committee and network with their peers in training and team-building sessions. Wednesday was the wireless-specific day and with the topic “Alternative last-mile strategies,” saw over 50 members in attendance. Project manager Arno Hart reported on the success of the Cape Town TVWS Trial, of which WAPA is a partner.

The WAPA AGM was closed to members only and included a Chairperson’s report by Christopher Geerdts, a Treasurer’s report by Abraham van der Merwe and a Regulatory report by Sumaiyah Makda from Ellipsis. Revisions to the Constitution were adopted.

Godfree Maulana from the ICASA compliance division attended the AGM and gave a short address on licence obligations and how WAPA members can assist with the issue of unlicensed operators.

The Management Committee for the 2013 – 2014 period was voted in at the AGM:

  • Ellie Hagopian
  • Ziggy Heuer
  • Jens Langenhorst
  • Mohammad Patel
  • Rudolph Roos
  • Kerry Simpson
  • Jabulani Vilakazi
  • Ian Anderson (co-opted)

WAPA would like to thank the outgoing committee, in particular Christopher Geerdts, who has served as Chair for two years running, and committee member Nicola Smith who has served since WAPA’s inception in 2006.

We also thank the following members for sponsoring our AGM:

  • DNA Optic Fibre
  • Duxbury Networking
  • Internet Solutions
  • Jasco Networks
  • OTEL Telecoms
  • Sonic Wireless
  • Xtranet Internet Services

Finally, WAPA’s participation in iWeek 2013 for three year’s running has raised WAPA’s profile in the industry and we thank the events team and ISPA for this opportunity.